Where Should I Start? Diving into Edwards’ Many Works

Here is a question I get all the time… Edwards wrote so many things — where should I start reading? I recommend starting easy by starting short. Then work your way up to longer and harder works as you get to know the famed preacher.

Here’s that list again for you…

Resolutions (Volume 16)

Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God (Volume 22)

Heaven is a World of Love (Volume 8)

Personal Narrative (Volume 16)

Distinguishing Marks (Volume 4)

Miscellanies (Volume 13, 18, 20, 23)

Biography on Edwards (George Marsden) 

A Faithful Narrative (Volume 4) 

Sermons (Volumes 10, 14, 17, 19, 22, 25)

Religious Affections (Volume 2) 

The End for Which God Created the World (Volume 8)

The Nature of True Virtue (Volume 8) 

The Freedom of the Will (Volume 1) 


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s